Moorside cottage is the main cottage on the Mackenzie King Estate and is showing signs of deterioration. The NCC is therefore carrying out rehabilitation work to ensure the building’s sustainability for years to come.

Moorside houses the museum dedicated to William Lyon Mackenzie King, Canada’s tenth prime minister, who owned the estate for almost 50 years. Inside are several personal items that belonged to Mr. King, reflecting his legacy and role in Canadian history.

While rehabilitation is underway, the museum, former tearoom and toilets inside Moorside cottage will be closed to the public.

About the project

This project will restore the building’s exterior, specifically by:

  • replacing the cedar shake roof;
  • reinforcing the pergola and terrace structure;
  • rehabilitating the exterior cladding;
  • replacing the gutter system;
  • repairing and painting the windows and doors.

Timeline

Summer 2026: Implementation

Fall 2026: Close-out

About the Mackenzie King Estate

This 231-hectare country estate belonged to Canada's tenth and longest-serving prime minister, William Lyon Mackenzie King. After spending almost 50 years (1903–1950) beautifying and expanding his property, King bequeathed his beloved estate to all Canadians.