Nestled in the forest on the shore of Meech Lake, the ruins have a unique history. This beautiful, industrial heritage site is extremely popular with photographers.
Visiting the ruins
To get to the ruins, take Trail 36 from parking lot P11 on Chemin du Lac-Meech. In summer, this trail is open to hikers and mountain bikers and, in winter, the ruins are closed. The trail is a 3.25- kilometre round trip.
Help us preserve the Park’s heritage landscapes.
- Leave areas as you found them. Follow Leave No Trace Canada principles.
- Do not climb on the ruins.
- Swimming is prohibited.
- Dogs on leash are permitted in summer.
Washrooms: Washrooms are available at P11.
Parking: A parking lot is available at O'Brien Beach (P11), on Chemin du Lac-Meech in Chelsea. Vehicle parking charges apply at certain times of the year.
Picnic tables: O'Brien Beach has a picnic area.
About the ruins
Thomas Leopold Willson
While frequent visitors to Gatineau Park may be familiar with the Carbide Willson ruins, the history of the man behind the buildings may remain a mystery to them. Born in 1860 in Woodstock, Ontario, Thomas Leopold “Carbide” Willson was a pioneer of the North American electrochemical industry, with over 70 patents in his name.
The inventor’s fame and his nickname “Carbide” come primarily from his discovery in 1892, while he was working in the United States, of a calcium carbide manufacturing process. As is often the case, this discovery resulted from a series of fortunate accidents.
In 1907, Willson purchased 460 acres of land at Meech Lake for his summer home. He used the site to advance his research on nitrogen. Four years later, he built a dam, a generating station and an acid condensation tower near his home, at Meech Creek, on the shore of Meech Lake. The entire complex formed a superphosphate (monocalcium phosphate) fertilizer plant. Unfortunately, in 1915, while in New York City trying to raise new venture capital, Willson collapsed in the middle of the street, struck down by a heart attack.