National Capital Commission

Advisory Committee on Toponymy (ACT)

Members (two part-time positions)

The National Capital Commission (NCC) is a federal Crown corporation created by the Parliament of Canada in 1959 under the National Capital Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. N-4). The corporation is responsible for planning, as well as taking part in the development, conservation and improvement of Canada’s Capital Region. It fulfills this role through the following areas of activity:

  • setting the long-term urban planning direction for federal lands in the National Capital Region;
  • guiding and controlling the use and development of federal lands in the National Capital Region;
  • managing, conserving and protecting NCC assets (including Gatineau Park, the Greenbelt, real property, and other assets such as bridges, pathways and parkways); and maintaining heritage sites in Canada’s Capital Region, such as the official residences and commemorative sites.

The ACT provides independent expert advice to the Commission’s staff on the following:

  • Integrity, inclusiveness and relevance of proposed names including appropriateness and historical accuracy
  • Public engagement and consultations

The composition includes nine members: a representative from Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg, a representative from Pikwakanagan and two other professionals as well as five NCC employees.

The committee meets twice a year.

Per diem allowances are payable for attendance at advisory committee meetings, and travel expenses are reimbursed according to Treasury Board directives.

The NCC is seeking two candidates for the Advisory Committee on Toponymy, for a three-year term, with expertise in local history, Canadian history, heritage and/or interpretation. At least one of the two positions will be a person residing in the National Capital Region.

Please submit your resume and/or biography to the NCC Secretariat at